David Crew is a gamer and web lover. Read my blog or else I'll throw a Bomb-Omb at you. Lighted. :)

Letter to Microsoft


Hey you,

How’s it goin? You feeling alright? You sure? Well I’m not, you’re suffocating me. I just want to like you again, I really do, but you keep doing things and saying stuff that just makes me embarrassed to know you.

I fell in love with your Xbox at first glance. It’s curvaceous lines, stellar games, and online content made me enjoy many a quiet evening in a dimly lit room at home with it. My girlfriend was so jealous, she just couldn’t understand what we shared.

Your windows 7,  the version that should have been released instead of ‘the os that shall not be named’,  was amazin too. Snapping windows and having that nifty little taskbar revamped was a blast. Plus, it was actually a stable and well tested, well released product. Kudos.

But your other products and services really make me not trust you. Internet explorer is universally known to suck major ballage, your forays into the iPod dominated portable media market have been paltry at best, your windows phone os and the kin spontaneously combusted into failures, and you’re going to try to make the world buy another suite of office applications for the billionth time just so we can have a slightly newer, more confusing way to do business. And on top of all that, you canceled the last device I really thought was going to kick some major ass.

And that’s just the tip of the iceberg.

Microsoft, please stop being a follower. You were a born leader and our relationship has fallen on hard times ever since you gave up on yourself. You need to pick yourself up and experiment more and go for innovation rather than a ‘me too!’ kind of attitude. Drop the products and services that are under-performing and transfer the resources to better areas and new markets. And no, by better areas I don’t mean the kinect and that creepy kinectimals bs, i mean something we haven’t thought of before but desperately need.

If you don’t, I swear I’m going to buy a mac and do dirty things with it. And oh yeah, it’s true what they say about it’s performance. Plus with valve sending games over to mac, things are bound to get a little steamy.

D. Crew

Leave a Reply

