David Crew is a gamer and web lover. Read my blog or else I'll throw a Bomb-Omb at you. Lighted. :)

Read Wall Street Journal Online for Free


Hey Everyone,

Being a business student, I am always subjected to professors asking to find and regularly read various articles from the Wall Street Journal. Being also a poor business student, this can be very difficult because the business school I attend provides relatively no subscriber passes to its students unlike other competing colleges and universities. So if you need an article for a class, or even want to browse the Wall Street Journal Online without much hassle, just follow the guide below:

Follow these Steps:

  • Download Firefox and install it.
  • Then proceed to the add-ons section and find the Javascript powerhouse, Greasemonkey
  • Next, proceed to http://userscripts.org/ where there is a whole variety of various scripts to download for Greasemonkey. Search through and get the script WSJ Paywall Bypass
  • Install the script, make sure your little monkey icon at the bottom of Firefox is colored and go and visit WSJ Online to view articles.
  • Enjoy!

Note:

There are other ways to get around the paywall of WSJ online, such as using Google News and Firebug, or even finding different browsers like Chrome that can run Javascript add-ons. If you are a heavy reader of the WSJ, I highly suggest getting a subscription if you can afford one. I’m actually more of a fan of Reuters, the Economist, and other sources, but it’s really up to you.

I only use this workaround because we have archives of the paper editions at our school, but instead of sprinting to the library and spending hours searching through it all, this is a much quicker way to find articles for assignments.

Happy Reading!

7 responses

  1. Lydia

    Thanks for this!!! I’ve been looking for a way to finally do my research for this project I have and after two hours of sifting through ways to read WSJ I came across this.

    February 16, 2011 at 5:22 pm

  2. Hello,

    I’m curious, what plugin are you using to allow for comments from 4 different social media sites? I would like to incorporate the same one into mine! Let me know please.

    September 26, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    • David Crew

      It does it automatically on the latest edition of WordPress. Your site has it too!

      If you had your own site not through the free WordPress blog system, you would be able to browse even more additional plugins for greater sharing on sites in addition to the 4 available.

      Hope that helped 😉

      September 26, 2011 at 8:05 pm

      • Hey,

        I actually do have a blog that’s my personal one … on its own domain . I am currently using the disqus plugin, but I’m looking for something similar to yours.

        September 26, 2011 at 8:22 pm

  3. Is this commenting system a specific plugin (if so what is it called)? Or is it the standard one that came with you blog?

    September 28, 2011 at 6:42 pm

  4. Sarah

    Hi;
    I know this article is over a year old.
    Would you happen to know if these extensions still work? I’m using read wsj for chrome but it only works for one article or so.

    Thanks

    February 1, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    • David Crew

      Hey Sarah,

      I tried it not too long ago and could not seem to get the old method to work again. I tried it with the firefox/greasemonkey and then through a couple chrome extensions and couldn’t get through. I believe WSJ smartened up and stopped that javascript from avoiding the paywall.

      Best bet is to just split the subscription fee ($30 for 15 weeks? ffs :/) with someone. Best of luck!

      February 1, 2012 at 5:24 pm

Leave a Reply

